Alabama Writers Hall of Fame2023-04-14T16:15:22-05:00

Alabama Writers Hall of Fame

Since 2014, the Alabama Writers Hall of Fame has recognized Alabama writers whose accomplishments have earned them national and international reputations in the literary arts. Founded through a partnership between the Alabama Center for the Book, housed in the University Libraries at the University of Alabama, and the Alabama Writers’ Forum, AWHOF has inducted five classes of honorees. E. O. Wilson, Fannie Flagg, Winston Groom, Margaret Walker, Harper Lee, and Sonia Sanchez are among those recognized and testify to the rich literary culture of our state.

2023 Alabama Writers Hall of Fame

2023 Class

On Friday, March 10th, 2023, the sixth class of honorees will be inducted at the University of Alabama’s Bryant Conference Center. Congratulations to Tom Franklin, Trudier Harris, Angela Johnson, Howell Raines, Michelle Richmond, and Daniel Wallace and to the families of Eugene Walter and Kathryn Tucker Windham, who will be inducted posthumously. Carolyn Haines, 2022 AWHOF inductee, will serve as the honorary gala chair.

For tickets and information, contact Michael Pearce, Director, Alabama Center for the Book, at For press inquiries, contact Jeanie Thompson, Executive Director, Alabama Writers’ Forum, at

View previous winners here.

Go to Top